An Active Livery Investing in Young People

The Court

September 2017 to September 2018

The Master

Lionel Anthony Edwards

Senior Warden

Graham N Cole CBE

Renter Warden

Richard N Charlesworth MVO

Junior Warden

Sarah J Adams-Diffey


Court of Assistants and Voting Members

Past Master Jeffrey D Rose CBE

Past Master Andrew M Love

Past Master Michael D Davis

Past Master Dr. Stephen K Hammerton

Past Master Vice Admiral Sir Tim Laurence KCVO CB ADC

Past Master Group Captain Gerry Bunn CBE

Past Master The Hon. Michael Callaghan

Past Master Ian Smith

Past Master Michael G Kimber

Immediate Past Master Martin Payne

Assistant Sarah J Sillars OBE

Assistant Anthony P Sparks

Assistant Julian P Leach

Assistant Mark R T Garnier MP

Assistant William Dastur

Assistant Richard J Haycocks

Assistant Michael E Moran

Assistant Sarah Cook

Assistant Graeme B Hunt

Assistant Sarah Holt

Assistant Lesley Upham

Assistant Stephen Fitz-Gerald

Assistant Giles Taylor

Honorary Assistant The Venerable Ray Pentland CB (non-voting)

Honorary Assistant John P Blauth (non-voting)

Steward Robert J Wilson (non-voting)

Steward Mark Gibbins (non-voting)

Steward Mark Broadbent (non-voting)

Steward Dianne Parlett (non-voting)

Steward Richard Robinson (non-voting)

Steward Christopher Walkinshaw (non-voting)

Steward Bettine Evans (non-voting)


A quorum of the Court shall comprise three members of the voting membership of which one must be the Master or a Warden (The Charter). The Court shall comprise a Master, three Wardens and 23 Assistants (The Charter).  To maintain the Court voting strength in accordance with the Charter Past Masters shall serve as a voting Court Assistant for a maximum of 15 years from the date of their becoming Immediate Past Master. Thereafter they will become Honorary (non- voting) Assistants (Court Meeting 5th July 1999). An Assistant may defer progression to Junior Warden by a maximum of two years subject to the approval of the Court. (Court Meeting 24th November 2005). The status of Past Master Emeritus enables Past Masters on request to withdraw from Livery membership but retain a record of their position and status in the Company without incurring a membership cost.  All the benefits of membership are relinquished but the individual remains on the annual Coachmaker Directory distribution list. (Court Meeting 22nd March 2017).