The Eric Beverley Bursary

In memory of Eric Beverley CBE DFC – Commercial Director of BAC Weapons Group, President of the Society of British Aerospace Companies and, in 1978, Master Coachmaker. As a member of the university Court he was closely involved with Cranfield and, prior to his death in 1980, was considering Livery support for students. In his memory, the then Master Jack Williams OBE established a memorial fund to provide an annual bursary for students at Cranfield who will apply their knowledge in the aerospace industry. Applicants submit a proposal describing their research activities, give a presentation and answer questions from a panel of judges.

For more information please click here.

The Sir Frederick Handley Page Scholarship

In memory of the aircraft pioneer and industrialist Sir Frederick Handley Page CBE FRAeS who, among many other achievements and contributions to the aerospace industry, was a principal lecturer at City University London and, in 1943, Master Coachmaker. This award helps a City University first degree graduate with the ability, determination and potential to progress to MEng level.

For more information please click here.

The Sir Sydney Camm Scholarship

In memory of designer Sir Sydney Camm CBE FRAeS, who designed more than 50 aircraft, from the Hawker Hart of the 1930s, to the iconic Hurricane and Hunter fighters and the Harrier Jump Jet. This award, made at Kingston University, helps a successful Foundation Degree graduate to progress to BSc (Hons) level.

For more information please click here.

The Victor Gauntlett Scholarship

The Victor Gauntlett Scholarship is awarded, in conjunction with The Air League, to a young pilot who is keen to forge a career in aviation, and is named after a former Master in recognition of his contribution to the Livery and support for the training of young people.

Victor Gauntlett joined the RAF as a young man and moved on to a successful entrepreneurial career where, among many other achievements, he founded a petroleum company and rescued Aston Martin Lagonda.

His widespread interests included racing vintage Bentleys as well as operating a Spitfire and a Dakota DC3. In 2002 he was appointed Honorary Air Commodore No 4624 Squadron Royal Auxiliary Air Force and, were it not for his early death in 2003 during his year in office as Master Coachmaker, would have become Chairman of The Air League. This scholarship takes a young person to first solo standard en route to a Private Pilot’s Licence, and is awarded to a candidate aspiring either to a military or civilian flying career.

The Sir Geoffrey De Havilland Scholarship

In memory of British aviation pioneer and engineer Captain Sir Geoffrey de Havilland OM CBE AFC RDI FRAeS whose Mosquito, among many other designs is considered the most versatile warplane ever. This scholarship enables a young person displaying a keen interest in aviation to gain a Private Pilot’s Licence on a Tiger Moth.

Motor Car Centenary Bursary Award

In 1985, Master Richard Dallimore established a Motor Car Centenary Fund to provide an annual bursary for an outstanding designer, to support them in advancing their automotive career. The competition is open to automotive design students under the age of 28, or practising designers in the industry. The Royal College of Art manages the competition, and a panel of experts judges the presentations and makes recommendations to the Court.

Motor Car Centenary Bursary Award

Davy Foundation Award

The Coachmakers’ Davy Foundation Award is funded by the Davy Foundation trustees through Accountants Smallfield Cody & Co, who allocate an annual sum to the Livery. This is divided between Motorvations – an organisation delivering an alternative educational programme in an automotive workshop environment to marginalised, excluded or at-risk young people who do not fit into other educational systems. Under a separate programme, two other awards go to apprentices demonstrating talent and ability in motor engineering. This is managed through the Sir Henry Royce Memorial Foundation, working with the Rolls-Royce and Bentley Specialists’ Association.

Aerotron Scholarship

The Aerotron Scholarship is designed to help a suitably experienced and motivated mechanic or technician – probably under the age of 30 and currently employed in the UK with a UK Part 145 maintenance organisation, and who aspires to a Part 66 licence but would probably not be able to achieve it without some assistance with the costly process. To apply for the Aerotron scholarship, which awards up to £5,000 towards the cost of obtaining a Part 66 B1 or B2 aircraft maintenance license for fixed wing, rotary wing or other aircraft type, please click here.

The Captain Eric “Winkle” Brown Scholarship

This award was established, in conjunction with The Air League, in memory of the late Capt Eric ‘Winkle’ Brown, the most-decorated pilot in the history of the Royal Navy, who flew 487 types of aircraft, more than anyone else in history. Captain Brown also holds the world record for the most aircraft carrier deck take-offs and landings (2,407 and 2,271 respectively) and achieved several “firsts” in naval aviation, including the first landings on an aircraft carrier of a twin-engined aircraft, an aircraft with a tricycle undercarriage, a jet propelled aircraft, and a helicopter. He became a Liveryman of the Coachmakers in 2015, the year before his death at the age of 97. This scholarship takes a young person to first solo standard en route to a Private Pilot’s Licence, and is awarded to a candidate aspiring to a military, preferably Royal Naval, flying career.

The Award to Industry

The Award to Industry was established in 1972 to recognise outstanding contributions to technological advancement in transport, executed with elegance and commercial significance by an individual or organisation.

Winner of the 2018 Award to Industry, Dowty Propellers

The award is made annually by the Master at the Award to Industry Dinner, assessed for excellence in design, technical development, innovation or commercial significance.

The Coachmakers’ Man-of-the-Year Award is presented annually to a sailor, soldier or airman each of our affiliated military units. It is made by the individual units to the person who has made the most significant contribution to the unit during the previous year.

The Carriage Driving Award

The purpose of the Company was to maintain standards in the construction, design and maintenance of horse-drawn vehicles and their associated harnesses, and this continues today. Coachmaker awards for outstanding contributions to coach and coach harness making were first presented at the annual British Driving Society Show at Smith’s Lawn in Windsor Great Park in 1979. The award is managed by the Carriage Driving Committee, which was formed in 1982 under Past Master David Shalit.

The Carriage Driving Award

The Duke of Edinburgh joined the Livery after winning the award in 1986, and since then has been an active member of the Driving Awards Committee. The show takes place at Smith’s Lawn on a Sunday in June when the Livery Cup and certificates are presented.